## **2700 EXPLOSIVE ORDNANCE DISPOSAL GROUP**

MISSION
LINEAGE 2700 Explosive Ordnance Disposal Squadron Activated Redesignated 2700 Explosive Ordnance Disposal Group Inactivated
STATIONS Hill AFB, UT, 9 Jul 1955-8 Jan 1960
ASSIGNMENTS
COMMANDERS
HONORS Service Streamers
Campaign Streamers
Armed Forces Expeditionary Streamers
Decorations
EMBLEM
мотто
NICKNAME

**OPERATIONS** 

By 7 May 1954 EOD at Ogden took a slight upward trend when AMC inactivated the 1st EOD Squadron. Activated in its place was the 2700th EOD Squadron with Detachment 3, attached to Hill AFB, but still under control of the squadron at Wright-Patterson.

AMC relieved the 2700th EOD Squadron from assignment to that headquarters, relocated it on a permanent-change-of-station basis, assigning it to Ogden, effective 9 July 1955. That put both the headquarters for the 2700th EOD Squadron as well as its Detachment 3 at the base. (Three officers and five airmen came to Hill on the move.) The remaining Detachments stayed at their duty stations, but under the control of the 2700th: Number 1, Tinker AFB, Oklahoma; 2, Norton AFB, California; 4, McClellan AFB, California; 5, Olmsted AFB, Pennsylvania; 6, Griffiss AFB, New York; 9, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio; 10, Robins AFB, Georgia; and 11, Kelly AFB, Texas. This made Ogden the sole agent for the USAF in the performance of reconnaissance, detection, recovery, field evaluation and safe disposal of all unexploded ordnance and explosives, including special weapons, biological and chemical warfare weapons. If the Army, Navy or Civil Defense agencies needed EOD assistance, the 2700th stood ready to assist.

By 1 April 1958, increased activity called for organization of two more Detachments (raising the total to 11) under the 2700th EOD Squadron at Hill AFB: Detachment 7, Rushmore AF Station, Rapid City, South Dakota and Detachment 8, McChord AFB, Washington. AMC authorized each to have one officer, 15 airmen and one civilian. Now, besides Detachments 7 and 8, the Zone of Interior received EOD support from these Detachments at these AF Bases: 1, Tinker; 2, Norton; 3, Hill; 4, McClellan; 5, Olmsted; 6, Griffiss; 9, Wright-Patterson; 10, Robins; and 11, Kelly.

More demands for EOD functions in the Zone of Interior as well as overseas brought an elevation of EOD organizations on 1 July 1958. On that date AMC redesignated the 2700th EOD Squadron as Headquarters, 2700th EOD Group; discontinued the 11 numbered detachments; designated and organized three EOD Squadrons with a total of 15 Detachments: (1) 2701st, Hill AFB with five numbered Detachments: 1, Rushmore; 2, Norton; 3, Hill; 4, McClellan; 5, McChord; (2) 2702nd, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio with six numbered Detachments: 1, Tinker; 2, Kelly; 3, Robins; 4, Wright-Patterson; 5, Olmsted; 6, Griffiss; (3) 2703rd, Tachikawa Air Base, Japan with four numbered Detachments: 1, Tachikawa; 2, Ashiya Air Base, Japan; 3, Kadena Air Base, Okinawa; 4, Andersen AF Base, Guam. As before, each Detachment was authorized one officer, 15 airmen and one civilian.

The 2700th EOD Group on 8 January 1960 had 64 officers, 396 airmen and 12 civilians assigned.

**USAF Unit Histories** 

Updated:

Sources

Air Force Historical Research Agency. U.S. Air Force. Maxwell AFB, AL

Created: 25 Jun 2021